Installing NASM

NASM is an assembler for x86-based computers. Here I describe my experiences from installing NASM on Linux and on Mac Mountain Lion.

Ubuntu Linux

NASM was installed using the command

sudo apt-get install nasm

Linux

Starting from the NASM site I navigated to the NASM download page.

I downloaded NASM version 2.10.05 in source format, by downloading the file

nasm-2.10.05.tar.bz2

I unpacked the file and navigated to the newly created directory, using the commands

tar xvjf nasm-2.10.05.tar.bz2
cd nasm-2.10.05

As a preparation for building NASM, a configure command shall be issued. Since I was not root for the machine, I used a prefix, indicating the place where I wanted NASM to be installed. The command used was

./configure --prefix=/nobackup/local/prog/nasm

Then I could build and install NASM, using the commands

make
make install

I also added the following changes

export PATH=/nobackup/local/prog/nasm/bin:$PATH

to my setup script, where I also set up other environment variables.

Mac Mountain Lion

Starting from the NASM site I navigated to the NASM download page. From there I continued to the Mac OS download page, from where I downloaded the file

nasm-2.10.05-macosx.zip

Unzipping this file resulted in a directory named nasm-2.10.05 being created.

I now noticed that I already had nasm on my computer, as could be seen from

Olas-MacBook-Air:nasm-2.10.05 oladahl$ nasm -v
NASM version 0.98.40 (Apple Computer, Inc. build 11) compiled on Aug 4 2012

That version was however older than the newly downloaded, as could be seen by doing

Olas-MacBook-Air:nasm-2.10.05 oladahl$ ./nasm -v
NASM version 2.10.05 compiled on Sep 9 2012

I decided to put the downloaded nasm in a directory called prog/nasm inside my home directory. I moved it there using

mkdir -p ~/prog/nasm
mv * ~/prog/nasm

I then added the following changes

export PATH=~/prog/nasm:$PATH

to my setup script, where I also set up other environment variables. After having rerun the setup script I could use the downloaded nasm, after first having verified that it was found using

Olas-MacBook-Air:i1_bare_metal oladahl$ nasm -v
NASM version 2.10.05 compiled on Sep 9 2012

About Ola
Writer of fiction and non-fiction, published the suspense novel Prevention - creating Books with Views - with books on programming and embedded systems - http://my.bookbaby.com/book/prevention

One Response to Installing NASM

  1. Pingback: Setup Linphone Sdk on Mac OS X | culinphone

Leave a Reply

